Image Upload

File size must be less than 2Mb

You must have online publishing permission or full ownership of this image

File types (jpg, png, gif)

  • Hero image
    Mark Mbofana.

Mark Mbofana clinches top Horsham cricket award

Rupanyup-Minyip all-rounder Mark Mbofana is Horsham Cricket Association’s 2019-20 Cec Hopper Medallist.

Mbofana won the all-rounder award based on a combination of runs and wickets accumulated during the home-and-away season.

In his 16 matches this year he accumulated 586 runs, which included an unbeaten century at an average of 45.08. As a medium-pace bowler he also captured 18-383 at 21.28.

Mbofana, Homers opening batsman Adam Atwood and Jordan McDonald from Noradjuha-Toolondo were also the A Grade competition’s joint players of the year. Atwood won the A Grade batting average with 596 runs at 54.18 and Justtin Combe, Noradjuha-Toolondo, the batting-aggregate trophy with 568.

Article continues below

Homers all-rounder and medium-pacer Craig Britten won a bowling-aggregate trophy with figures 152.5-31-527-40 at 13.18 and Laharum’s Adam Barber snared the bowling-average title with 98.3-20-368-33 at 11.15.

Other awards – B Grade: Alan McRae Medal and player of the year, batting average, Mitch Dahlenburg, Nhill 1032 runs at 103.2; bowling average, Liam Preston, Nhill 65.5-8-217-23 at 9.43. 

C Grade: Ivan Morrison Medal and bowling average, Daniel Collins, Colts 55.5-3-204-21 at 9.71; player of the year, Kevin Purchase, Colts; batting average, Jeremy Tyler, Laharum 240 at 34.29.

The entire March 25, 2020 edition of The Weekly Advertiser is available online. READ IT HERE!

The entire March 25, 2020 edition of AgLife is available online. READ IT HERE!