Image Upload

File size must be less than 2Mb

You must have online publishing permission or full ownership of this image

File types (jpg, png, gif)

  • Hero image
    REPRESENTATIVES: Hindmarsh Shire’s youth council for 2024 includes six returning members and seven new members.

Hindmarsh youth council take lead

Hindmarsh Shire Council welcomed seven new members to its 13-strong youth council.

Youth council members are Alissa Trenery, Bailee White, Chelsea Elliot, Cooper Stasinowsky, Eh Ku Taw, Eli Badua, Eliza Clarke, Liam Campbell, Lilly Williams, Messi Ehdohpaw, Mia O’Dwyer, Taylor Hauselberger and Plot Nyo.

Mayor Brett Ireland congratulated the youth councillors on their appointment and presented each with a certificate at a function at Dimboola  Library.

After the certificate presentation, many of the youth councillors attended a leadership and team-building weekend retreat, which was supported by Youth Leadership Academy Australia. 

Article continues below

The new councillors listened to a presentation on the night sky from Dr Toby Potter during the retreat and were able to use a powerful telescope, ‘Celeste’ to view stars, planets, the moon, galaxies and nebulae. 

“On behalf of council, I would like to wish the 2024 youth council well, and hope that they thoroughly enjoy their time and make great memories,” Cr Ireland said. 

The entire February 21, 2024 edition of The Weekly Advertiser is available online. READ IT HERE!