Image Upload

File size must be less than 2Mb

You must have online publishing permission or full ownership of this image

File types (jpg, png, gif)

  • Hero image
    Cr. Rob Gersch, Mrs. Carmen Trenery, Josh Lees, Alister Dickinson, Jenna Schineider, Ruby James, and Zara Clark, from Nhill College.

Nhill recognises youth achievers

Hindmarsh Shire councillor Rob Gersch presented awards to some of Nhill’s outstanding youth at an assembly at Nhill College last week.

Recipients of the awards were nominated for Hindmarsh Shire Youth Awards, originally planned to be earlier in the year.

A youth awards ceremony did not happen, but the council still believed it was important to acknowledge the young people who were nominated across a range of different categories.

Cr Gersch said he was delighted to be able to recognise the contributions of young people to the shire.

Article continues below

“I am honoured to be here today on behalf of Hindmarsh Shire Council to present youth awards to a number of outstanding young people from within our community,” he said.

“It is very pleasing and a great achievement to see so many young proactive and productive people in Nhill and across Hindmarsh Shire.”

The following individuals received awards –

Mitchell Dahlenburg – Young Sportsperson –

Mitchell received his award in recognition of his contribution to Nhill and District Sporting Club, specifically his roles as coach of an under-12 football team and as the club’s junior vice president.

Ruby James – Young Sportsperson – Ruby received her award in recognition of her persistence and perseverance in advancing her involvement in cricket through the Western Waves representative cricket squad and the Renegades country team.

Jenna Schneider – Young Sportsperson – Jenna was recognised for her time umpiring and coaching both basketball and netball in Nhill. She was commended for her knowledge, guidance and support to younger people. She showed outstanding leadership skills.

Josh Lees – Young Sportsperson – Josh was recognised for his involvement in basketball and cricket with local teams. He consistently put his hand up for leadership and volunteer roles in the clubs he is involved with and proved himself an asset to the community.

Sarena Be Nyo – Young Artist – Sarena was awarded for her willingness to step out of her comfort zone by taking on a role as pianist at local Karen church services each Sunday.

Zara Clark – Young Artist – In addition to receiving a Young Artist award for her contribution to the 2018 production of JER and various other arts related activities, Zara was also recognised for being involved in various roles at school, and more specifically for her role in the wellbeing team.

Alister Dickinson – Youth Volunteer – Alister was recognised for his contributions towards Yanac Hockey Club and Nhill Vintage Machinery Club. His ‘Bike Parade Project’ raised awareness within the Nhill College community of the fantastic work Nhill Aviation Heritage Centre does. Through the bike parade, Alister raised money for the centre and, as a result, was asked to continue as a regular volunteer for the organisation in the future.

Nhill College’s SPARK Program received a Group Youth Community Award for the activities students Drew Schneider, Aiden Rintoule, Tyler Davis, Thomas Harris and Brock Stephens undertook at Iona Digby Harris Nursing Home under the guidance of teacher Carmen Trenery.

The program received two nominations, acknowledging the work students and teachers undertook at the nursing home and other contributions they made within the community.

Cr Gersch said all award nominees and recipients should reflect on their contributions with pride.

Funding for the Hindmarsh Shire Youth Awards was made available through the State Government’s Department of Premier and Cabinet, Victorian Youth Week 2019 and Hindmarsh Shire Council.

People wanting more information on the awards can call council community development coordinator Simon Landrigan on 5391 4444 or email

The entire July 3, 2019 edition of The Weekly Advertiser is available online. READ IT HERE!