Image Upload

File size must be less than 2Mb

You must have online publishing permission or full ownership of this image

File types (jpg, png, gif)

  • Hero image
    RECOGNITION: The Coodabeen Champions, from left, Greg Champion, Billy Baxter, Jeff ‘Torch’ McGee, Jeff Richardson, Simon Whelan, Andy Bellairs and Ian Cover.

Radio ‘champions’ honoured in Queen's Birthday awards

Members of iconic radio show The Coodabeen Champions, have received Queen’s Birthday honours. 

Ian Cover, Jeff Richardson, Billy Baxter, Greg Champion, Jeff ‘Torch’ McGee and Andy Bellairs each received an Order of Australia Medal, OAM, for their service to the performing arts and to radio. 

The Coodabeens, part of sports-radio culture since the early 1980s and one of the most enduring radio teams in the country, joined 3WM programming in a switch to ACE Radio Broadcasters in March.

The team has built a remarkable following since its program first aired on 3RRR in 1981. 

Article continues below

In the four decades since, the Coodabeens have also established a reputation as broadcasters, authors, podcasters, live performers and all-round entertainers.

ACE Radio content director Adam Roche said the Coodabeens were an institution. 

“The Coodabeens have been a fantastic addition to the ACE Radio network and this recognition is well-deserved for decades of quality entertainment for generations of listeners,” he said. 

Fans can listen to The Coodabeen Champions on Fridays from 4pm to 6pm on 3WM. The program is also available via the 3WM website and as a podcast.

The entire June 15, 2022 edition of The Weekly Advertiser is available online. READ IT HERE!