Image Upload

File size must be less than 2Mb

You must have online publishing permission or full ownership of this image

File types (jpg, png, gif)

  • Hero image
    TOP SCARE FACTOR: Above, Gabe and Dawson Sibley with their winning scarecrow.
  • Hero image
    SCARIEST - Zoe Nuske (Emma Flowers) (8th entry)
  • Hero image
    CUTEST – Lilly Nuske (Pinky) (7TH entry)
  • Hero image
    MOST COLOURFUL – Michelle Nuske (Greenable) (6th entry)
  • Hero image
    BIGGEST – Fraser Penny (Leo) (5th entry)
  • Hero image
    PRETTIEST and BEST DRESSED – Ava Penny (Sally) (4th entry)
  • Hero image
    SMALLEST – River and Nan Cox (3rd entry)
  • Hero image
    BEST OVERALL: Gabe and Dawson SibleyCUTEST – Lilly Nuske (Pinky) (7TH entry)MOST COLOURFUL – Michelle Nuske (Greenable) (6th entry)SCARIEST - Zoe Nuske (Emma Flowers) (8th entry)PRETTIEST and BEST DRESSED – Ava Penny (Sally) (4th entry)COVID SAFE – Braxton and Nan Cox (1st entry)BIGGEST – Fraser Penny (Leo) (5th entry)SMALLEST – River and Nan Cox (3rd entry)
  • Hero image
    COVID SAFE – Braxton and Nan Cox (1st entry)

School holiday scarecrow fun in Yarriambiack

The entire October 6, 2021 edition of The Weekly Advertiser is available online. READ IT HERE!

Children across Yarriamback Shire have taken the opportunity to make scarecrows as part of a school holiday activity program.

Yarriambiack Shire Council Community Development team, working with Warracknabeal Creative Circuit and Warracknabeal Community Garden, prepared a program of scheduled and self-paced activities.

Article continues below

The program was designed to meet the needs of children across a variety of ages during the holiday break.

There were eight scarecrow entries with Gabe and Dawson Sibley winning best entry overall and a $50 ‘Jono and Johno’ gift voucher.

Warracknabeal Community Garden committee members and municipal youth-impact officer Justin Knorpp judged the scarecrows and came up with different categories.

Every entrant received a prize. There were three $20 cash prizes from the Community Garden Committee and four $20 shop-local vouchers from Yarriambiack Shire Council.

Other award winners were: Cutest, Lilly Nuske; most colourful, Michelle Nuske; scariest, Zoe Nuske; prettiest and best dressed, Ava Penny; Covid-safe, Brax and Nan Cox; biggest, Fraser Penny; and smallest, River and Nan Cox.