Image Upload

File size must be less than 2Mb

You must have online publishing permission or full ownership of this image

File types (jpg, png, gif)

  • Hero image

Warracknabeal Maroons gather for reunion

The entire June 23, 2021 edition of The Weekly Advertiser is available online. READ IT HERE!

Warracknabeal players who took part in a 1966 Wimmera Football League premiership will gather for a 55-year reunion this weekend.

Article continues below

The reunion will involve a lunch at Warracknabeal Community Centre at Anzac Park as part of a Wimmera league fixture between Warrack Eagles and Minyip-
Murtoa on Saturday.

History shows that Warracknabeal, called the Maroons at the time, came from behind to beat John Kennedy’s Stawell team at Horsham City Oval by 27 points.

The win followed a comfortable semi-final win by the Maroons over the Warriors, which had been the benchmark team during the season.

Max Wright, who played in the centre for the winning team, has helped organise the occasion, which follows a 50-year anniversary event in 2016.

“When we had the 50-year celebrations all members of the team were still alive,” he said.

“We’ve lost two in the past five years and there are others who can’t come. But we still have about 15 premiership players attending.”

Warracknabeal’s 1966 premiership team –

B, Mick Murphy, Max Woodward, Bernie Armstrong; HB, Noel Michael, Ian Bibby, Barrie Fry; C, Patrick Heenan, Max Wright, Ken Stronach; HF, John Nielsen, Graeme Clyne, Len Bilson; F, Trevor Harders, Brian Clyne, Hugh McDougall; FOLL, Russell Crow, Ken Smale, John Dyer; 19th, Barry Bardell, 20th, Peter Amor.